LOVE IS NOT MY PORTION

Love I thought was ‘a gift’

But I laboured for mine.

Yet… It was nowhere

My sweat dripping and telling tales of my plight…

Love I thought was ‘a soul lifter’

But mine was burdened

And I faint endlessly like a… ‘am gonna die soon’

Love was equal for everyone but partial with me.

When others hide, Love fights till they’re found.

I had to stand on the mountain tops trying to impress Love

I stayed in the hallway waiting to peep at Love’s first sight…

Yet Love boycotts me.

Countless nights of ceaseless years, consistently my tears runs a current for Love.

Yet Love felt no empathy to feel my hurt and give a treat.

I stared at the lovebirds on the balcony,

they found Love but not I.

Then I assumed love is not my portion.

A seemingly word of ease was to keep panting for love even from its dried up well..

Just maybe, maybe Love will finally see the need to beckon on me.

A deperate beam of hope was to have a few around me and I thought love was here…

Only to realise that the game is on me.

All they wanted was my goods and not me.

Not even a potion can make love my portion.

So I wait no more.

The more I do, the more bitterness seems to make it’s abode with me.

Any shape of love becomes a disgust to me.

So when I say Love is not my portion… don’t..

Don’t try to persuade me nor patronize me,

For you know not from where I have Sojourned in the Oasis of love..

Where I couldn’t find any recognition.

So dear, Love is not my Portion.

Dedicated to: This is to every heart that pants for Love and in bitterness because they couldn’t find one. Don’t be so certain that you won’t. Before you conclude that love is not your portion, let your heart find other things to do, love will find its way one day. Love finds those who are busy easily, you don’t need to impress or display to find love. Be purposeful and love will see the need to find you.

Photo credit: Kavar Whilby

© Elizabeth Abolarin.

By Elizabeth (Divine Muse)

Elizabeth is a writer, spokenwords artist(poet) and drama minister. She is eager to impact the world with her blend of poetry, prose and drama. "Writing is the best way I express myself" ~Ellysetoluwa

2 comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started